Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal

Constituency   : Bikaner (SC) (Rajasthan)
Date of Birth : 20 Dec 1953
Educational Qualifications : M.A. (Pol. Science), LL.B., M.B.A
Educated at Sri Dungar College, Bikaner and University of Philippine, Philippines
Profession : IAS Officer (Retd).
Social Worker,Weaver,Educationist
Positions Held:
2009 : Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
2009 : Member, Consultative Committee, External Affairs
Member, National Core Committee, Scheduled Castes Morcha B.J.P.
31 Aug. 2009 - 20 Jun. 2010 : Member, Standing Committee on Defence
2010 : Vice-President, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.) Rajasthan
2010 onwards : Member, National Executive, B.J.P.
21 Jun. 2010 - 31 Aug. 2011 : Member, Standing Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forest
31 Aug. 2011 : Member, Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice
2011 onwards : Convenor, Anuvrat Parliamentarian Forum
01 Dec. 2011 : Member, Zonal Railway User`s Consultative Committee (ZRUCC)
01 May 2012 : Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
21 April 2013 : Member, Committee on Absence of Member from the Sitting of the House
12 July 2014 : Chief Whip, Lok Sabha, (BJP)
May, 2014 : Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
13 June 2014 - 5 July 2016 : Member, Business Advisory Committee
1 Sep. 2014 - 5 July 2016 : Member, Standing Committee on Railways
15 Sep. 2014 - 5 July 2016 : Member, Committee on Ethics
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs
Executive Member, Indian Parliamentary Group
28 Nov. 2014 - 5 July 2016 : Chairperson, House Committee
11 Dec. 2014 - 5 July 2016 : Member, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit
29 Jan. 2015 - 5 July 2016 : Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, National Khadi and Village Industries Board
Member, Governing Council of SSA
1 May 2015 - 5 July 2016 : Member, Committee on Estimates
3 July 2015 : Member, Sub-Committee-III, Committee on Estimates
5 July 2016 - 3 Sept. 2017 : Union Minister of State, Ministry of Finance; and Ministry of Corporate Affairs
3 Sept. 2017 - 25 May 2019 : Union Minister State, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs; and Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
May, 2019 : Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
30 May 2019 to 7th July 2021 : Union Minister of State, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs; and Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
20 June 2019 onwards : Special Invitee, Business Advisory Committee
21 Nov. 2019 onwards : Special Invitee, General Purposes Committee, Lok Sabha
8th July 2021 till date : Minister of State for Culture
Books Published:
Chief Editor of saviors of religious, social and cultural organisations; Jan Sewa Me Arjun Ram Meghwal, Ek Safar Hum Safar Ke Sath, Divya Path Damptya Ka, CAA : Bharatiya Mulyon w paramparaoko Shashkatkarnewala Kanun
Social And Cultural Activities:
Participated in many programmes for the development of the Rajasthani language; extended full cooperation in various capacities for recognition of Rajasthani as an Indian language in VIIIth Scheduled of the Indian Constitution; Worked as a Principal Advisor of Bhwana Meghwal Memorial Trust, which is committed to promote the talented and economically deprived students by providing scholarships etc. and guidance by various programmes; the Trust has been conducting group marriage programmes of the weaker sections of the society and seminar, workshops to awaken the people about social issues
Initiated Debate and Discussion for abolition of Manual Scavengers in the Country in 15th Lok Sabha and has raised the matter since the vigorously. This issue has been raised first time in the Calling Attention by him.
Initiated Debate about allowing arguments by Lawyers in Hindi in High Courts and Supreme Court of India
Conducted various Happiness Programmes to promote Happiness Index in society
Other Information:
Co-Chairman : Committee on the Reservation in Judiciary, under National Commission for SC 2011-2014; Served as IAS officer in the various capacities in Rajasthan Cadre; Member: (i) Executive Committee of the Indian Parliamentary Group 22/2/2010 onwards; (ii) India - Canada Parliamentary Friendship Group 2010-2014; (iii) India - Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group 2010-2014; (iv) India - Romania Parliamentary Friendship Group 2011-2014; (v) General Council of the National Institute of Rural Development (NIRD); (vi) Governing Council of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) 11/10/2013 onwards
  • National Culture Fund